2012 Heisman Trophy Presentation: Guaranteed To Be Historic!

The Heisman Trophy.

It’s one of the greatest awards given in college sports. Winners of the award go on to NFL Hall of Fame careers, become coaches of NCAA national champions, or…vacate it.

Here is a basic primer for this Saturday’s Heisman presentation.

What: The Heisman Trophy is given every year by the Heisman Trophy Trust to the nation’s most outstanding player. It has been awarded 75 times, with only one two-time winner (Archie Griffin, Ohio State).

Where: The Best Buy Theater, New York City.

When: Saturday, December 8 at 8 pm EST/ 5 pm PST on ESPN.

And now, onto the who.

Here are this year’s Heisman Trophy finalists:

Kansas State QB Collin Klein, Senior

  • Led the Wildcats to a Fiesta Bowl berth and their first conference championship since 2003.
  • Winner of the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year.
  • Led K-State to a 10-0 start for the first time since 1998. His first ever start was against the Texas Longhorns.

Kansas State’s Last Heisman Winner: No one.


Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, Freshman

  • Led the Aggies to their first  10-win season since 1998.
  • Broke the single-season record for offensive production in the SEC (4,600 yards).
  • Second freshman in NCAA history to pass for 2,000 yards and rush for 1,000.
  • Set the NCAA record for most rushing yards by a freshman QB.
  • Winner of the Davy O’Brien Award given to the nation’s best quarterback.
  • Like previous Heisman winner Robert Griffin III, was recruited by the Texas Longhorns for a position other than quarterback.

Texas A&M’s last Heisman Winner: John David Crow (RB), 1957


Notre Dame LB Manti Te’o. Senior

  • Led the Fighting Irish to their first National title game for the first time since 1988.
  • Led all linebackers in the NCAA in interceptions.
  • Winner of the Nagurski, Butkis, Walter Camp, Maxwell and Lombardi Awards.
  • Trying to become the first defensive player to win the Heisman since Charles Woodson (Michigan) in 1997.
  • Was only the third Hawaiian to be named to the USA Today All-American team in high school.

Notre Dame’s Last Heisman Winner: Tim Brown (WR) 1987


What’s At Stake?

  • Manziel is trying to become the first freshman to win the Heisman on the first night of Hanukkah.
  • Te’o is trying to become the second defensive player, and first linebacker, to win the Heisman.
  • Klein is trying to become the greatest Heisman third wheel since Tim Tebow in 2008.

Prediction: Amid chants of “S-E-C” and “Gig Em,” Johnny Football will become the first freshman to win the Heisman and will cement his status as the second-greatest “John” to play quarterback, behind John Moxon of West Canaan High School.

Jonathan Moxon, one of the greatest “John” quarterbacks to play the game

Something tells me that after Saturday night, Johnny Moxon will indeed want Johnny Manziel’s life.



  1. Hi there, I found your website by means of Google
    while searching for a similar matter, your website came up,
    it appears to be like good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply changed into alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.

    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful for those who proceed this in future.
    Many other people might be benefited from your writing.

  2. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow,
    just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  3. Thanks to my father who stated to me regarding this web site,
    this web site is in fact remarkable.

Speak Your Mind